What is a Chatbot and how to use it? | Agile Partner
share on

Chatbot

chatbot image

Offer your customers an alternative experience in their communication, make exchanges more fun, answer a need for constant reactivity, ... Here are some examples of using a Chatbot. But in fact, what is a Chatbot? And why are we talking more and more about it?

Analysis by Louis Tinant a Scrum Master at Agile Partner.

chatbot example

What is Chatbot?

"Chatbot", "conversational agent", "Bot" ... All these are certainly familiar to you, probably have you used these terms before, but what is really behind them?

A Chatbot is a computer program that simulates a human conversation, vocally or by text. In recent years, they have gained popularity, especially with the emergence of voice assistants such as Siri (Apple) or Alexa (Amazon). But to understand how we got here, let's focus on the pioneers of these new virtual companions.

Where does Chatbot come from?

The idea that a machine could reproduce a human conversation was initially theorized by Alan Turing, British mathematician and cryptologist, in 1950.

He thus set up a test based on the ability of the machine to imitate a human conversation.

This test, called "Turing test" is about a human which is asking a series of questions to a computer and to another human.

If at the end of the allotted time, it is not possible to distinguish the machine answers from the human answers, it means that the computer passes the Turing test.

chatbot- eliza picture

In the mid-1960s, a little over ten years after the theory of the Turing test, the spiritual father of the "Chatbot" was born. Joseph Weizenbaum, a professor at MIT, wrote the computer program ELIZA, which consists of simulating an interview with a Rogerian- psychotherapist (therapy focused on repetition and empathy).

At that time, ELIZA was a revolution. However, it was impossible for the bot to create a complete conversation, he was content to relaunch his conversations without creating useful answers. Then followed many chatbots (PARRY, JABBERWACKY, ALICE, ...). Despite the notorious developments in the field, none of them managed to pass the Turing test.

It was not until 2014 to see the first Bot "pass" the test. Called Eugene Goostman, this computer program simulates a conversation with a 13-year-old child.

chatbot eugene goostman picture

He manages to fool some of his users over a period of 5 minutes.

However, the victory over the test is still criticized, the scientific community says that a machine will be able to actually pass the test when it will work without time limit.

Until this day, no machine is yet able to pass the Turing test. No artificial intelligence is able to deceive a user in the long run. But the scientific world continues to work on these assistants, it continues to confront us with these "intelligent" machines.

These chatbots are increasingly being deployed by companies to help their associates and customers on more and more varied and accurate topics.

We will see that creating and deploying a chatbot is not as complicated as it seems, having a virtual assistant offers a set of benefits in its approach and interactions and everything is done to make our work easier.

Creating a Chatbot

Today, there are many ways to create a Chatbot, some are easier to understand, others are more complete. It's all about what we want to do and how much complexity we want to make our assistant evolve.

Chatbots are usually associated with artificial intelligence (AI). It is true that the use of the latter brings a lot of features and interactions, but it does not mean that Chatbot and AI are inseparable. Those who are the most advanced use AI and language processing for a more advanced and complete conversational exchange, but nothing prevents the bot from having a "guided" exchange.

chatbot example

For example, many chatbots offer answers already written and thus offer the user a conversation oriented by a list of choices available to him.

It is therefore much simpler to create a complex dialogue tree, the routing is not linearly through the predefined answers but automatically adapts according to the responses entered by the user.

So, there are several ways to create a Chatbot, create a support interface with multiple choice structured messages or let the possibility to "communicate" more freely with the machine, each method offers its advantages according to needs and complexity desired with the bot.

Okay, but how to build a Chatbot?

There are many ways to create a Chatbot, many solutions exist on the Internet to easily make and host a simple conversational assistant. In this case, these are platforms that do not require any programming knowledge. Just drag and drop the desired features before linking the Bot to a messaging channel (Facebook, Twitter, Telegram, ...)

But what interests us here is more complex, it's about creating a Bot from A to Z, manage the entries, the loops of messages or the recognition of writing, add a vocal assistant, manage the data in a base, ... In short, to personalize our assistant.

To do this, there are Frameworks to create a complex Chatbot relatively easily.

These Frameworks are like toolboxes containing everything needed for development. There are several, but the best known and most common are probably "Amazon Lex", "Google Dialogflow" and "Microsoft Bot Framework".

They all offer the same functionality and a similar integration, the choice of one compared to the other will be mainly based on the ecosystem related to this Framework. Thus, a developer accustomed to working on the Azure interface will tend to choose "Microsoft Bot Framework".

Another factor that may also influence this choice and the wizard for which the Bot can be developed. For example, "Lex" is best for the voice assistant Alexa, "Dialogflow" for Google Assistant and "Microsoft Bot Framework" for Cortana.

chatbot channels example

As we can see in the image above (integration of a Bot developed via "Microsoft Bot Framework" on the Azure platform), the integration of a bot on a discussion channel is very easy. Just connect to the corresponding ecosystem and create a link to the chosen application. It is thus very simple to broadcast the bot on any messaging application.

Concretely, what is a Chatbot for?

Creating a conversational assistant within a company offers many benefits. With the emergence of social networks and messaging applications (Messenger, Whatsapp, ...), developing a Chatbot for one or more of these platforms offers increased visibility compared to a "traditional" application, a large portion of smartphone users have access one of these channels. Deploying the company's services directly to them avoids the development of a third-party application for companies and their download for the user. Most companies have developed their Bot in order to offer and distribute their services more easily.

Using a Chatbot also allows the company to provide automated and instant answers to its customers. Thus, companies using these services save response time for their customers. Even if the Chatbot is not able to answer all the questions asked, it can still "filter" the requests of users to redirect them to the appropriate services (take their customer number, know the service to which to be redirected, ...). In addition, the use of such component can facilitate support for some basic queries, loss of a password, updating of personal information, request for product information, status of an order in progress, all these requests can now be provided 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.

If the conversation or request requires a more precise approach, it is also possible to use the Chatbot as an introduction to the customer's approach before being redirected to a company employee.

In conclusion?

In conclusion, it turns out that the development of a Chatbot offers many advantages. It is a booming technology, many companies have embarked on the development of these conversational agents and the growing number of these agents is fostering their emergence.

Nevertheless, we are only at the beginning of this communication mode, the arrival of vocal assistants and artificial intelligence will undoubtedly allow greater freedom in the exchanges between humans and machines.

Chatbots are an innovative way of interacting with users. We have everything to gain by innovating and developing new ways of communicating and offering our services.

Our development team (our Agile Software Factory) can help you develop your chatbot!

share on

Qu'est-ce qu'un chatbot et comment l'utiliser ? | Agile Partner
share on

Chatbot

chatbot image

Proposer à ses clients une expérience alternative dans ses communications, rendre les échanges plus ludiques, répondre à un besoin de réactivité constante, … Voici quelques exemples d’utilisation d’un Chatbot. Mais en fait, c’est quoi un Chatbot ? Et pourquoi en parlons-nous de plus en plus ?

Analyse effectuée par Louis Tinant Scrum Master chez Agile Partner.

chatbot

Un Chatbot c’est quoi ?

« Chatbot », « agent conversationnel », « Bot », … Tout ceci vous est certainement familier, sans doute les avez-vous déjà utilisés, mais qu’est-ce qui se cache réellement derrière tout ça ? 

Un Chatbot est un programme informatique qui simule une conversation humaine, vocalement ou textuellement. Ces dernières années, ils ont gagné en popularité, notamment avec l’émergence des assistants vocaux tels que Siri (Apple) ou Alexa (Amazon). Mais pour comprendre comment nous en sommes arrivés là, attardons-nous sur les pionniers de ces nouveaux compagnons virtuels. 

D’où vient le Chatbot ?

 L’idée qu’une machine puisse reproduire une conversation humaine fût initialement théorisée par Alan Turing, mathématicien et cryptologue britannique, en 1950. 

Il met ainsi en place un test reposant sur la faculté de la machine à imiter une conversation humaine.  

Ce test, baptisé « test de Turing » consiste à faire poser à un humain une série de questions à un ordinateur et à un autre humain.  

Si à la fin du temps imparti, l’interlocuteur est incapable de distinguer qui de la machine ou de l’humain lui répond, cela signifie que l’ordinateur réussit le test de Turing. 

chatbot eliza

Au milieu des années 1960, soit un peu plus de dix ans après la théorisation du test de Turing, le père spirituel des « Chatbot » voit le jour. Joseph Weizenbaum, professeur au MIT, écrit le programme informatique ELIZA, qui consiste à simuler un entretien avec un psychothérapeute rogérien (thérapie axée sur la répétition et l'empathie).

A cette époque, ELIZA était une révolution, cependant, il était impossible pour le bot de créer une conversation complète, il se contentait de relancer ses interlocuteurs sans créer de réponses utiles.
S’ensuivent alors de nombreux chatbots (PARRY, JABBERWACKY, ALICE,...). Malgré les évolutions notoires dans le domaine, aucun d’entre eux ne parvint à réussir le test de Turing.

Il faut attendre 2014 pour voir le premier Bot « passer » le test. Baptisé Eugène Goostman, ce programme informatique simule une conversation avec un enfant de 13 ans.

chatbot eugene goostman

Il parvient à duper une partie de ses interlocuteurs sur une durée de 5 minutes.  

Cependant, la victoire sur le test est toujours critiquée, la communauté scientifique affirme qu’une machine sera en mesure de passer réellement le test quand elle simulera et dupera un humain sans limitation de temps. 

A ce jour, aucune machine n’est encore en mesure de passer le test de Turing. Aucune intelligence artificielle n’est capable de tromper un utilisateur sur le long terme. Mais le monde scientifique continue de travailler sur ces assistants, il continue de nous confronter à ces machines « intelligentes ». 

Ces chatbots sont de plus en plus déployés par les entreprises pour aider leurs collaborateurs et leurs clients à propos de sujets de plus en plus variés et précis. 

Nous allons voir que créer et déployer un chatbot n’est pas aussi compliqué qu’il n’y paraît, avoir un assistant virtuel offre un ensemble d’avantages dans son approche et ses interactions et tout est fait pour nous faciliter le travail. 

Créer un Chatbot

A ce jour, il existe de nombreuses façons de créer un Chatbot, certaines sont plus simples à appréhender, d’autres sont plus complètes. Le tout est de savoir ce que nous souhaitons en faire et jusqu’à quel niveau de complexité nous souhaitons faire évoluer notre assistant. 

Les Chatbots sont généralement associés à l’intelligence artificielle (IA). Il est vrai que l’utilisation de cette dernière apporte son lot de fonctionnalités et d’interactions, mais ce n’est pas pour autant que Chatbot et IA sont indissociables. Ceux qui sont le plus avancés utilisent l’IA et le traitement de langage pour un échange conversationnel plus avancé et complet, mais rien n’empêche le bot d’avoir un échange « guidé » 

chatbot

Par exemple, de nombreux Chatbots proposent des réponses déjà rédigées et offrent donc à l’utilisateur une conversation orientée par une liste de choix s’offrant à lui.

Il est donc beaucoup plus simple de créer une arborescence de dialogue complexe, le cheminement ne se fait pas de manière linéaire au travers des réponses prédéfinies mais s’adapte automatiquement en fonction des réponses entrées par l’utilisateur. 

 Il existe donc plusieurs manières de créer un Chatbot, créer une interface de soutien avec des messages structurés à choix multiples ou laisser la possibilité de communiquer plus librement avec la machine, chacune des méthodes offre ses avantages en fonction de besoins et de la complexité souhaitée avec le bot.  

Un Chatbot, d’accord mais comment ?

Il y a plusieurs façons de créer un Chatbot, de nombreuses solutions existent sur Internet pour réaliser et héberger facilement un assistant conversationnel simple. Il s’agit dans ce cas de plates-formes ne nécessitant aucune connaissance en programmation. Il suffit de glisser-déposer les fonctionnalités souhaitées avant de lier le Bot à un canal de messagerie (Facebook, Twitter, Telegram,...) 

Mais ce qui nous intéresse ici est plus complexe, il s’agit de créer un Bot de A à Z, gérer les entrées, les boucles de messages ou la reconnaissance d’écriture, ajouter un assistant vocal, gérer les données dans une base,... En bref, personnaliser notre assistant. 

Pour ce faire, il existe des Frameworks permettant de créer relativement facilement un Chatbot complexe. 

Ces Frameworks sont comme des boîtes à outils contenant tout le nécessaire pour le développement. Il en existe plusieurs, mais les plus connus et courants sont sans doute « Amazon Lex »« Google Dialogflow » et « Microsoft Bot Framework ». 

Ils offrent tous les trois les mêmes fonctionnalités et une intégration similaire, le choix de l’un par rapport à l’autre se fera principalement en fonction de l’écosystème lié à ce Framework. Ainsi, un développeur habitué à travailler sur l’interface Azure aura tendance à choisir « Microsoft Bot Framework ». 

Un autre facteur pouvant également influencer ce choix et l’assistant pour lequel le Bot peut être développé. Par exemple, « Lex » est ce qu'il y a de mieux pour l’assistant vocal Alexa,« Dialogflow » pour Google Assistant et « Microsoft Bot Framework » pour Cortana.  

chatbot

Comme nous pouvons le voir sur l’image ci-dessus (intégration d’un Bot développé via « Microsoft Bot Framework » sur la plateforme Azure), l’intégration d’un bot sur un canal de discussion se fait très facilement. Il suffit de se connecter sur l’écosystème correspondant et d’y créer un lien vers l’application choisie. Il est ainsi très simple de diffuser le bot sur n’importe quelle application de messagerie.

Concrètement, un Chatbot ça sert à quoi ?

La création d’un assistant conversationnel au sein d’une entreprise offre de nombreux avantages. Avec l’émergence des réseaux sociaux et des applications de messagerie (Messenger, Whatsapp,…), développer un Chatbot pour une ou plusieurs de ces plateformes offre une visibilité accrue par rapport à une application « traditionnelle », une grande partie des utilisateurs de smartphones ont un accès l’un de ces canaux. Diffuser les services de l’entreprise directement sur ces derniers permet d’éviter le développement d’une application tierce pour les sociétés et leur téléchargement pour l’utilisateur. La plupart des sociétés ont développé leur Bot afin de proposer et diffuser plus facilement leurs services. 

L’utilisation d’un Chatbot permet également à la société de fournir des réponses automatisées et instantanées à ses clients. Ainsi, les entreprises utilisant ces services économisent un temps de réponse pour leurs clients. Même si le Chatbot n’est pas capable de répondre à toutes les questions posées, il peut tout de même « filtrer » les demandes des utilisateurs afin de les rediriger vers les services adéquats (prendre leur numéro de client, connaître le service vers lequel être redirigé,…). De plus, l’utilisation d’un tel assistant peut faciliter l’assistance pour certaines requêtes basiques, la perte d’un mot de passe, la mise à jour d’informations personnelles, la demande d’informations sur un produit, le statut d’une commande en cours, toutes ces demandes peuvent à présent être fournies 7 jours/7, 24h/24. 

Si la conversation ou la demande nécessite une approche plus précise, il est également possible d’utiliser le Chatbot comme une introduction à la démarche du client avant d’être redirigé vers un employé de la société.  

En conclusion ?

En conclusion, il s’avère que le développement d’un Chatbot offre de nombreux avantages. Il s’agit d’une technologie en plein essor, de nombreuses entreprises se sont lancées dans le développement de ces agents conversationnels et le nombre croissant de ces derniers favorise leur émergence.

Notons tout de même que nous ne sommes qu’au début de ce mode de communication, l’arrivée des assistants vocaux et la démocratisation de l’intelligence artificielle permettra sans doute une plus grande liberté dans les échanges entre les humains et les machines. 

Les Chatbots sont une façon innovante d’interagir avec les utilisateurs, en attendant l’arrivée de technologies plus poussées encore, nous avons tout à gagner à innover et à développer de nouvelles façons de communiquer et d’offrir nos services.

 

Notre équipe de développement (notre Agile Software Factory) peut vous aider à développer votre chatbot !

share on